Friday, June 14, 2013

Idaho Public Safety Dispatchers Graduate From POST Academy Today

MERIDIAN - Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) is proud to announce that Basic Dispatch Academy Class #59 graduated during a ceremony this morning at the POST Academy in Meridian. The ceremony for the Basic Dispatch Academy Class #59 began at 11:00 a.m.

The 18 graduates of the two-week academy represent law enforcement agencies from throughout the state. The academy provides the knowledge and skills necessary to operate as a public safety dispatcher and is required for POST certification as a Dispatch Communication Specialist. 

Academy students have instruction in the following areas:

  • Call Classification, Call Taking & Call Prioritization
  • Customer Service & Effective Communication
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Emergency Communications Technology & TTY
  • Hazardous Materials Orientation & Emergency Response Guide
  • Fire Call Handling
  • Legal Liability & Ethics
  • Pat Down Searches & Handcuffing
  • Radio Procedures
  • Incident Command System (ICS) & National Incident Management System (NIMS)
During the ceremony the graduates were addressed by Rory Olsen, POST Deputy Division Administrator, Michelle Craig, Class President, Stephanie Birch-Harris, Pocatello Police Department, and Kerry LaFramboise, POST Training Specialist. The top student award was presented to Kayla Lafferty from the Teton County Sheriff’s Office and the Leadership “Call for Backup” Award, that was voted on by the class as to who they would want by their side as a partner, was presented to Raquel Jasmer from the Idaho State Police.

During her address to the graduates, Stephanie Birch-Harris, spoke of dispatchers as the Thin Gold Line. She explained that between the Thin Red Line of fire fighters, the Thin Blue Line of law enforcement and the Thin White Line of emergency medical services lies the thinnest Gold Line. This Thin Gold Line represents those who are rarely seen but mostly heard, the dispatchers. The calm voice in the dark night and the golden glue that holds it all together. 

Those dispatchers graduating today and their agencies are:

Lynette Benzie Elmore County Sheriff’s Office

Jenaca Burnett Bingham County Sheriff’s Office
McKenzie Call Caribou County Sheriff’s Office
Ashley Charvez Shoshone County Sheriff’s Office
Michelle Craig Washington County Sheriff’s Office
Sarah Harris Shoshone County Sheriff’s Office
Raquel Jasmer Idaho State Police
Kayla Lafferty Teton County Sheriff’s Office
Kelsie Massolio Idaho State Police
Casual Merritt Adams County Sheriff’s Office
Coleman Moore Idaho Falls Police Department
Christopher Reed Idaho Falls Police Department
Davina Shay Fort Hall Police Department
Jared Smith Lewiston Police Department
Susan Sparrow Caribou County Sheriff’s Office
Kimberly Steiner Nampa Police Department
Christina Sweetland Bingham County Sheriff’s Office
Heather VanOsdol Elmore County Sheriff’s Office